cake in a mug dessert

blog-post-3-copy

graphic by eleanor kaestner

Cake in a mug??

I can’t think of an easier dessert to make in a dorm room, apartment, or any kitchen.

This little cake in a mug requires only a few simple ingredients and about 10 minutes before you have a delicious treat. The smell of the melting chocolate chips or whatever flavor you decide to use will fill your room as if you baked a full on cake, yet without such the temptation.

The recipe I chose was from the food blog Sweet Little Bluebird because it had no dairy, egg, or butter. While staying on the healthier end of the cake spectrum, I also figured it would be simplest to try this recipe out to show others who live on a college campus like me, without access to my own full kitchen, that it still can be done!

The recipe calls for flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, vanilla, water, vegetable oil, and white vinegar (which I omitted). While someone may be wondering why college students would have these ingredients around their dorm, most do not. However, the dry ingredients are easy to pre-make at home and place in ziplock bags before transporting to school. I pre-packed a few of these “cake bags” at home and then stuck them in my refrigerator at school until I made one for this post. The chocolate chips, vanilla, and oil I bought at a nearby grocery store.

After you have either bought the ingredients or pulled them from the fridge, all you have to do is stir them up in the mug, place in the microwave for 2 minutes, and enjoy. That’s it.

At home when I make these, I like to switch up the flavors- sometimes using more vanilla in place of the cocoa powder, and adding sprinkles so I can have a birthday cake flavor instead of chocolate. And obviously ice cream or whipped cream taste great on top. Depending on the variety of ingredients available to you, there are endless twists to the simple recipe.

A few simple recipes for beginners are here and here. But if you are feeling confident in your mug baking abilities, these coffee cake, lemon cake , and s’mores cake recipes are super creative renditions.

Of course Buzzfeed “Tasty” has covered this recipe in one of their “snack sized” videos. Check it out here and really see how easy it can be!

 

 

4 responses to “cake in a mug dessert

  1. I love that you’re making your own graphics and I thought this post in particular had a lot of really useful tips. I thought it was cool that you linked to a recipe but made it your own based on the ingredients you had and what you were looking for. Your blog posts are clearly targeted for a college-aged audience, but could easily reach a larger audience who wants to find healthy and easy alternatives to some of their favorite (not so healthy) foods.

    Like

  2. I enjoy reading your posts because you have such a unique tone in each of them. A lot of this has to do with the graphics you’ve included and the general feel that your blog creates from the theme. I love the general concept of your blog since it’s tailored towards peers, who definitely could use advice about how to make the most of a system.

    Like

  3. Eleanor, I think your blog idea is perfect for college students looking for better options in the cafeteria. Your tone is just casual enough that it feels relatable as a college student. I think it’s really unique that you made your own graphics because they’re really unique and personal to your blog. I’m excited to keep reading and learning new ways to eat better in the caf!
    Susie

    Like

  4. I love the idea of pre-packing mug cake recipes at home! I wish I had thought of that sooner. I like that you included this recipe because it’s something that you can do in your dorm room rather than at the caf. Not all cafs are alike, so while you may not have the same options to create some of the other dishes in other colleges, this is accessible to anyone. Your graphics are great, but I would suggest adding a picture of the end result, maybe at the bottom of the post? Otherwise, great blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

